About the Sacral Chakra

The world is my womb, and my mother’s womb was my first world.
– R.D.  Laing


          “Chakra” is a Sanskrit word meaning “wheels of light.”  Chakras are energy centers that energy flows through in our body. There are seven main chakras- 5 along the spine and two in the head. Each chakra is named based on the part of the body it spins over. The chakras are associated with the related organs it is associated to, as well as its association to various aspects of emotional, mental and spiritual experiences.

          Just as all our organs don’t work in isolation from one another, our chakras do not work in isolation from each other. Operation Save Uterus started in an attempt to save my uterus but it evolved into a creative and transformative experience, not in only how I learned to connect and take care of my body, but how I re-connected to my creative and intuitive self.

Insights on the Sacral Chakra:

The Swadhisthana or “sacral chakra”, which is located directly above the reproductive organs, is the center of passion, desire, creativity and change. In my experiences, the more open and balanced this chakra becomes, the easier it is to express true desires, be able to “let go” and flow with life, and give birth to new and exciting ideas. The main element of this chakra is water; fluidity. Our bodies are made up of mostly water, therefore we should move within the world as such. We Gently flow through life, letting go of attachments and ego so that we will move quickly and effortlessly with the current of our life path finding our desired self. When this chakra is fully balanced we are able to easily allow change to happen. We give birth to new and exciting ideas allowing our true passion to create a perfect world in which we find ourselves happy and content.

– James Bene
Reiki Master Healer/Mentor

sacral chakra a